Today in America, a growing number of CCW holders are learning how to become FFL dealers to serve their communities as Federal Firearms License (FFL) holders. These FFL holders are allowed by federal law to be licensed dealers to handle the selling and distribution of firearms and ammo.
You must be more than a gun owner to get your FFL in Nevada. At Rocket FFL, we hope to make becoming a federal firearms licensee easy with our step-by-step instructions.
In this article, we will discuss:
- FFL Cost
- Steps to getting your FFL in Nevada
- Federal Requirements for an FFL
- Nevada State Requirements for an FFL
- Nevada Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
- FAQs and additional resources
FFL Cost in Nevada
How much does an FFL cost? An FFL in Nevada costs between $30-$200 for the first 3 years.
The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) requires you to fill out an FFL application where you will choose from several license types.
Each of these license types varies in price based on what each allows the licensee to do. There is a big difference between wanting to sell a few handguns at a gun show in Carson City and handling NFA items at your Las Vegas gun store as a federal firearms licensee.
Each of these activities requires a different type of FFL license for which the application fees range in price.
FFL License Cost by Type
To handle NFA items (such as silencers, short-barrel rifles, machine guns, destructive devices, etc.), you must pay additional costs in the form of an SOT license registration.
Steps to Getting Your FFL
To get your FFL in Nevada, you need to:
- Ensure you meet the federal and state requirements for an FFL
- Choose your FFL type
- Take an FFL course
- Submit your FFL application forms
Step 1: Ensure You Meet FFL Federal Requirements
Federal and state requirements must first be met before you go forward in this FFL process. These are the same for every state in America (more details below).
Step 2: Choose Your FFL Type
Make sure that you apply for the appropriate type of FFL. This will depend on what you are trying to do with your Firearms business. Choose the type of license that will allow you to lawfully operate your FFL gun dealer business.
Most businesses opt for either a Type 01 license (for most firearms dealers and gunsmiths) or a Type 07 license (for manufacturing). The advantage of a Type 07 license is it allows both manufacturing and selling of firearms.
This article explains the different types of FFL licenses.
If you plan to sell NFA items, you will be required to apply for your SOT (Special Occupational Taxpayer). You’ll apply as an SOT after being assigned your FFL number.
These NFA items require your SOT:
- Full-auto machine guns
- Short-barreled rifles (rifles with a barrel shorter than 16″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Short-barreled shotguns (shotguns with a barrel shorter than 18″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Destructive devices (grenades, mines, bombs, etc.)
- Any other weapons (pen guns, specific special handguns, etc.)
Each FFL License type and which SOT Class you’ll need can be found in the chart below. We cover all of the specifics of SOT classes and the NFA in our Get Your FFL Course.
Step 3: Take an FFL Course
Take an FFL course from a qualified FFL instructor. Getting your FFL License can be complex, which is why I developed my course based on the decades of research and work I have done as a successful attorney in the firearms industry.
My course will not only cover getting your FFL, but it also covers everything you need to know to get your FFL based on Nevada gun laws.
My law expertise is in ATF compliance. Instead of getting rich off your mistakes, I want to teach my fellow firearms industry folks how to do it right the first time.
I provide an economical FFL Course and SOT Course combo. For just an extra $10, the combo teaches you to apply to buy and sell silencers and Short Barreled Rifles (SBRs) in addition to standard firearms covered by just your FFL. It’s worth it to know you are following all SOT state laws!
Step 4: Submit Your FFL Application Forms
Once you’ve made sure you meet all requirements (federal and state laws), chosen the appropriate FFL type for your business, and have successfully taken the Rocket FFL course combo, you are ready to “shoot” for your FFL!
After you submit all completed forms required by the ATF, all “responsible persons” for the business will need to undergo a NICS background check. A responsible person (RP) is considered the sole proprietor and any partner in the corporation who will influence the business’s practices and policies.
Once all your completed paperwork is verified as correct and all RPs have passed their NICS background checks, the application is sent to a local ATF field office. Here, an industry operations investigator (IOI) schedules all RPs for in-person interviews to ensure that information remains correct and that you follow all Nevada state laws and local requirements.
After the interview, the IOI will make a recommendation if they found no problems with your FFL application. Assuming you passed, the ATF field office supervisor will then submit the approved application to the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (FFLC), and an FFL number will be assigned to you.
This process, according to the ATF website, takes about 60-days from start to finish. However, depending on where you are located in the US, the ATF may require extra steps during the process.
This is all covered in my Rocket FFL course, where you’ll have every detail and access to all the necessary forms to quickly apply for your Federal Firearms License.
Federal Requirements for an FFL
The federal requirements for getting an FFL are the same for every state.
The federal government requires:
- FFL licensees be least 21 years of age
- FFL licensees be US Citizen or legal permanent resident
- FFL licensees legally be permitted to possess firearms and ammunition (no felony convictions, have not been a psychological patient or controlled substance user, etc.)
- Having a predetermined location for conducting FFL activities (this includes home-based FFLs)
- No violations of the Gun Control Act (GCA) or related regulations
- No false statements/claims on your FFL application
Once you satisfy all of these requirements, you can then move on to the state-specific requirements.
Nevada State Requirements for an FFL
Nevada state requirements for an FFL can be broken down into two categories:
- State licensing requirements
- Business registration requirements
Nevada State Licensing Requirements
There are no state-specific firearms licenses for gun store owners in the state of Nevada at this time. This makes you one easy step closer to your FFL in Nevada!
Nevada Business Registration Requirements
Nevada requires you to register your business with the State of Nevada, even if your business is registered in another state (we go over this in our Get Your FFL course).
Check out the steps to starting a company by the Nevada Secretary of State. They also provide an excellent resource for state business license requirements and registration.
Nevada Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
Local zoning requirements are the most significant issues for home-based FFLs. Make sure the location you use as a base of operations allows for a business.
Home-based firearms businesses are often told they can’t operate in a residential area, but this is due to a misunderstanding about the type of business activity held there.
When a zoning department hears “FFL,” they tend to assume there will be regular retail business foot traffic (which is not allowed in most residential locations). The truth is most home-based FFLs only have customers stop by on rare occasions.
This is covered in our Get Your FFL course, where we also discuss requirements for specific business hours.
Nevada FFL Summary
Getting your Nevada FFL does not have to be difficult with the proper guidance!
If you make sure you meet Federal and State requirements, choose the appropriate license type, take our valuable online course, and fill out the proper forms, you’ll soon be on your way to being the newest owner of a Nevada FFL.
Without our course, you can expect to sink a lot of hours into trying to get it right on your own.
Our course will give you confidence and get you through the process with ease. Trust me — knowing that you are running your business safely and within all the confines of both federal and local laws will be a massive load off your mind.
Let’s “pull the trigger” on getting your FFL!
FAQ for Nevada FFL Licensing
How much does it cost to get an FFL in Nevada?
An FFL in Nevada costs anywhere from $30 to $200 for 3 years. For a full breakdown of the cost of an FFL, check here.
Do I need an FFL in Nevada?
Yes! If you plan to sell, transfer, manufacture, or do anything else for profit involving firearms, you are legally required to have an active FFL.
Does Nevada require extra licensing for FFLs?
No, there are no additional licensing requirements for FFLs in Nevada.
Do I need to register a business for an FFL in Nevada?
Yes, if you are forming a business for your FFL, it must be registered in Nevada.
Can I get an FFL to save money on guns?
No, you should not get an FFL just to save money on guns. One of the main requirements for getting your FFL is “business intent,” meaning you intend to operate a firearms-related business.
However, you must wait to start your business until after you get your FFL number.
Extra Resources For Getting a Nevada FFL
US Code § 923: Code § 923 covers federal regulations for the import, manufacture, and dealing of firearms and ammunition. This is the federal law that requires those operating firearms businesses to get an FFL.
US CFR § 478.47 – Issuance of license.: This code explains how a Federal Firearms License is issued, including who must assign the license number. It requires the ATF (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives) to qualify applicants based on a predetermined list of requirements and to issue Federal Firearms Licenses.
If a correctly submitted FFL application has been submitted on ATF Form 7, the Chief of the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (a department at the ATF) must issue the license and assign a serial number to the licensee.
Gun Control Act (GCA): The GCA of 1968 establishes stricter laws on the firearms industry than were already present in the NFA. New regulations regarding firearms offenses, firearms/ammunition sales to “prohibited persons,” and federal jurisdiction for “destructive devices” (bombs, grenades, mines, etc.) were created with the GCA.
Starting a Business in Nevada: Need help finding out where to start with your new business? Check out this article from the Nevada Secretary of State showing you how to do just that!
Nevada Department of Public Safety and Compliance Information: Firearms dealers in Nevada can use this information to properly handle firearms sales in Nevada.
FFL Types: Use this guide to make sure that you choose the right type of Federal Firearms License for what you want to do.
Home-Based FFL: Don’t want to pay for a storefront but wish to operate as an FFL holder from your home? We explain how to do it from start to finish.