Getting your FFL in Vermont is not as difficult as you may think. You can join the many American gun owners who are serving their communities by becoming FFL dealers.
So if you’re thinking about getting your FFL license to become a reputable gun dealer in your local area, you’ve come to the right place!
In the state of Vermont, there are few requirements to get your FFL. Our goal is to help you make this process as easy as possible while following all FFL Vermont state laws and gun laws.
The points we’ll discuss are:
- FFL Cost in Vermont
- Steps to getting your FFL in Vermont
- Federal Requirements for an FFL
- Vermont State Requirements for an FFL
- Vermont Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
- FAQs and additional resources
FFL Cost in Vermont
How much does an FFL cost? Vermont FFLs cost between $30-$200 for the first 3 years, depending on the type of FFL you choose.
Whether you are opening a local gun shop or selling at gun shows, you’ll need to fill out an FFL application with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF). There are several different FFL license types to choose from.
The license type you need varies depending on the different functions each allows. The price also varies depending on what the FFL allows.
As the potential licensee, you need to decide whether getting your FFL is for just trying to sell a few handguns, ammo, and add to your curios, or if you plan to add gunsmithing, own a gun store, and wish to handle NFA items.
A different type of license is required for each of these. As a result, the application fees for each will range in price.
FFL License Cost by Type
Specifically, to handle NFA items, such as silencers, short-barrel rifles, machine guns, and destructive devices, with no problems, you must pay additional costs in the form of an SOT license registration.
Steps to Getting Your FFL
In order to get your FFL in Vermont, you need to:
- Ensure you meet the federal and state requirements for an FFL
- Choose your FFL type
- Take an FFL course
- Submit your FFL application forms
Step 1: Ensure You Meet FFL Federal Requirements
Your first step in attaining your FFL is to make sure that you meet all Federal requirements. These requirements are the same for every American citizen living in the United States.
Step 2: Choose Your FFL Type
Your second step toward your FFL license is to make sure you apply for the appropriate type of FFL. Which type of FFL you apply for depends on what you are trying to do with your business. You must make sure to choose the type of license that will allow you to lawfully operate your firearms business.
A Type 01 license (for most firearms dealers and gunsmiths) or a Type 07 license (for manufacturing) are the two most common types of FFLs most people apply for. The most significant difference between the two is a Type 07 license lets you both manufacture and sell firearms from your gun shop or home-based FFL.
We’ve put together an article that will help you determine what type of Vermont FFL best suits your needs.
Certain firearms and accessories require an SOT (Special Occupational Taxpayer) designation. After being assigned your FFL number, you can apply for your SOT.
Plan on getting your SOT if you want to sell these NFA items:
- Full-auto machine guns
- Short-barreled rifles (rifles with a barrel shorter than 16″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Short-barreled shotguns (shotguns with a barrel shorter than 18″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Destructive devices (grenades, mines, bombs, etc.)
- Any other weapons (pen guns, specialized handguns, etc.)
Each FFL License type can be found in the table below. You can also find the SOT Class you’ll need to apply for after getting your FFL to sell firearms covered under the NFA.
If you need more specific information about SOT classes and the NFA, you can check our Get Your FFL Course.
Step 3: Take an FFL Course
The next step in getting your Vermont FFL is taking an FFL course from a qualified FFL instructor. FFL License logistics can be complex.
As a firearms industry attorney who specializes in ATF compliance, I have developed my FFL course after decades of research and work. My goal is to help you get your FFL hassle-free. My course, which you can find below, will not only cover getting your FFL, but it also covers everything you need to know to get your FFL in Vermont.
My FFL Course and SOT Course combo gets you both FFL courses for only $10 more. The combo of courses will cover how to sell silencers and Short Barreled Rifles (SBRs) in addition to standard pistols and long guns covered by just your FFL.
Step 4: Submit Your FFL Application Forms
After you have checked that all requirements (federal and state) can be met, verified the appropriate FFL type needed for your business, and taken my Rocket FFL course, you are finally ready to “pull the trigger” to apply and pay for your FFL!
Once you have submitted all the forms required by the ATF and paid the fees via a credit card, they will start the NICS background check on all “responsible persons” named in your business. Someone who is considered a responsible person (RP) could be a sole proprietor and partners in the corporation who influence the business’s practices and policies.
After your NICS background checks are complete, the application is sent to the local Vermont ATF field office. At the field office, an industry operations investigator (IOI) will schedule an in-person interview with all responsible persons to make sure you are following all state and local requirements.
After your interview, the IOI will either approve or deny your FFL application. Once you are approved by the IOI, they will submit your application to the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (FFLC) as approved, and you will soon have your very own FFL number!!
This entire process takes around 60 days, according to the ATF website. Some states require multiple forms and extra steps during the process, but Vermont does not.
My Rocket FFL course goes over every detail you need and gives you access to all the necessary forms to quickly apply for your Federal Firearms License.
Federal Requirements for an FFL
The good news is the federal requirements for getting an FFL are the same for every American in every state.
To get your FFL, the federal government requires that you:
- Are at least 21 years of age
- Are a US Citizen or a legal permanent resident
- Are legally permitted to possess firearms and ammunition (no felony convictions, have not been a psychological patient or controlled substance user, etc.)
- Have a predetermined location for conducting FFL activities (this includes home-based FFLs)
- Have never violated the Gun Control Act (GCA) or related regulations
- Do not make any false statements/claims on your FFL application
Once you satisfy all of these requirements, you can then move on to the state-specific requirements.
Vermont State Requirements for an FFL
Vermont state requirements for an FFL can be broken down into two categories:
- State licensing requirements
- Business registration requirements
Vermont State Licensing Requirements
Vermont is a hassle-free state that does not have additional state licensing requirements beyond your Federal Firearms License. Unlike many states, gun dealers in Vermont do not need to acquire a state-level license to operate their firearms business.
Vermont Business Registration Requirements
Like any other state, Vermont does require you to register your business with the State of Vermont.
This is true even if your business is registered in another state. We go over important information like this in our Get Your FFL course.
To register your FFL business in Vermont, you should check out how to start a business in Vermont by the Vermont Agency of Administration Department of Taxes. The Vermont Secretary of State also explains How To Register your Vermont Business.
Vermont Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
Local zoning requirements in places like Rutland are usually among the biggest problems when applying for an FFL. The first rule in dealing with local zoning laws is you must ensure the location you use as a base of operations (often a home-based FFL) allows zoning for a business.
Home-based firearms businesses are often told they can’t operate in a residential area — but don’t give up yet! Most no’s are frequently due to misunderstandings about the kind of activity at a residential location.
Zoning departments often assume your FFL business will bring heavy foot traffic, which doesn’t fly in residential locations. The truth is most home-based FFLs only have customers stop by on occasion.
We cover how to navigate these kinds of issues and more in our Get Your FFL course.
Vermont FFL Summary
Getting your Vermont FFL is pretty straightforward when you know what you are doing!
When you follow Federal and State requirements, choose the appropriate license type, take our helpful online course, and fill out the proper forms, you’ll soon have your very own Vermont FFL.
Without our course, I can assure you that you will spend hours trying to get it right the first time. With our course, however, you will fill out your forms and get through the process with ease.
Start your FFL business right and within the Vermont laws. Trust me — my help will take a massive weight off your mind.
Let’s get you licensed!
FAQ for Vermont FFL Licensing
How much does it cost to get an FFL in Vermont?
An FFL in Vermont costs anywhere from $30 to $200 for 3 years. For a full breakdown of the cost of an FFL, check here.
Do I need an FFL in Vermont?
Yes! If you plan to sell, transfer, manufacture, or do anything else for profit involving firearms, you are legally required to have an active FFL.
Does Vermont require extra licensing for FFLs?
No, there are no additional licensing requirements for FFLs in Vermont.
Do I need to register a business for an FFL in Vermont?
Yes, if you are forming a business for your FFL, it must be registered in Vermont.
Can I get an FFL to save money on guns?
No, you should not get an FFL just to save money on guns. One of the main requirements for getting your FFL is “business intent,” meaning you intend to operate a firearms-related business.
However, you may wait to start your business until after you get your FFL number.
Extra Resources For Getting a Vermont FFL
US Code § 923: Code § 923 covers federal regulations for the import, manufacture, and dealing of firearms and ammunition. This is the federal law that requires those operating firearms businesses to get an FFL.
US CFR § 478.47 – Issuance of license.: This code explains how a Federal Firearms License is issued, including who must assign the license number. It requires the ATF (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives) to qualify applicants based on a predetermined list of requirements and to issue Federal Firearms Licenses.
If a correctly submitted FFL application has been submitted on ATF Form 7, the Chief of the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (a department at the ATF) must issue the license and assign a serial number to the licensee.
Gun Control Act (GCA): The GCA of 1968 establishes stricter laws on the firearms industry than were already present in the NFA. New regulations regarding firearms offenses, firearms/ammunition sales to “prohibited persons,” and federal jurisdiction for “destructive devices” (bombs, grenades, mines, etc.) were created with the GCA.
Starting a Business in Vermont: Need help finding out where to start with your new business? Check out this article from the Vermont Department of State showing you how to do just that!
Vermont Attorney General Office Gun Laws: Firearms dealers in Vermont can use this guide to properly handle firearms sales.
FFL Types: Use this guide to make sure that you choose the right type of Federal Firearms License for what you want to do.
Home-Based FFL: Don’t want to pay for a storefront but wish to operate as an FFL holder from your home? We explain how to do it from start to finish.