Have you ever thought about becoming an FFL dealer and possibly open your own gun shop? A growing number of people across American are doing just that and are getting their Federal Firearms License.
The difference between being an FFL holder and just having your concealed firearm permit is that FFL holders are allowed by federal law to handle the selling and distribution of firearms and ammo.
There are just a few requirements to follow to get your FFL in Utah and become a reputable gun dealer. At Rocket FFL, we hope to make this process easy, so you can be the next Utah state Federal Firearms Licensee.
In this article, we discuss:
- FFL Cost in Utah
- Steps to getting your FFL in Utah
- Federal Requirements for an FFL
- Utah State Requirements for an FFL
- Utah Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
- FAQs and additional resources
FFL Cost in Utah
How much does an FFL cost? An FFL in Utah costs between $30-$200 for the first 3 years.
Your FFL application to become a licensed dealer is filled out with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF), where you will choose from several license types.
The license types vary in price due to the different functions they allow the licensee to perform. For example, there is a different type of FFL license for just trying to sell a few handguns from your curio at a gun show and becoming an importer of NFA items at a gun store.
Each of these activities requires a different type of license for which the application fees range in price.
FFL License Cost by Type
Current gun laws require the FFL dealer to pay additional costs to receive an SOT designation to handle NFA items (such as silencers, short-barrel rifles, machine guns, destructive devices, etc.).
Steps to Getting Your FFL
To get your FFL in Utah, you need to:
- Ensure you meet the federal requirements for an FFL
- Choose your FFL type
- Take an FFL course
- Submit your FFL application forms
Step 1: Ensure You Meet FFL Federal Requirements
Before you do anything else, you need to make sure that you meet all federal requirements for FFL holders. Federal requirements are the same for every state in America, although the state laws vary (more details below).
Step 2: Choose Your FFL Type
After verifying you can meet federal requirements, make sure you apply for the appropriate type of FFL.
Which type of FFL you need depends on what you are trying to do with your company. Make sure you pick up the correct type of license that will allow you to lawfully operate your firearms business.
Typically, most FFL dealers need a Type 01 license to be a firearms dealer or gunsmith. Others opt for a Type 07 license to allow gun manufacturing. A Type 07 license allows a federal firearms licensee to both manufacture and sell firearms.
Make sure to read this article, where we break down how to determine what type of FFL will best suit your needs.
As we mentioned before, some types of firearms transfers and the sale of accessories require you to be an SOT (Special Occupational Taxpayer). Created by the National Firearms Act of 1934 (NFA), later updated with Title II of the Gun Control Act, you must apply for your SOT after being assigned your FFL number.
An SOT is required if you plan to sell these NFA items:
- Full-auto machine guns
- Short-barreled rifles (rifles with a barrel shorter than 16″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Short-barreled shotguns (shotguns with a barrel shorter than 18″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Destructive devices (grenades, mines, bombs, etc.)
- Any other weapons (pen guns, specific special handguns, etc.)
Which SOT Class you’ll need to apply for after getting your FFL is found in the table below.
FFL License Types
|FFL License Type||FFL License Purpose||SOT Class|
|Type 01 FFL||Dealer/Gunsmith of Firearms||3|
|Type 02 FFL||Pawnbroker/Dealer of Firearms||3|
|Type 03 FFL||Collector of Firearms||n/a|
|Type 06 FFL||Manufacturer of Ammunition||n/a|
|Type 07 FFL||Manufacturer/Dealer of Firearms and Ammunition||2|
|Type 08 FFL||Importer/Dealer of Firearms||1|
|Type 09 FFL||Dealer of Destructive Devices||3|
|Type 10 FFL||Manufacturer/Dealer of Destructive Devices||2|
|Type 11 FFL||Importer/Dealer of Destructive Devices||1|
Step 3: Take an FFL Course
We can’t stress enough the importance of taking an FFL course from a qualified instructor. Navigating the logistics of getting your FFL License can be complex.
For this reason, I developed my own FFL course based on decades of research and work as an attorney in the firearms industry.
I cover how to get your FFL and designed this course to specifically cover everything you need to know to get your FFL in Utah.
My legal specialty is ATF compliance. I have seen many people improperly apply for their FFL and need my help to fix them later. Instead of getting rich fixing others’ mistakes, I thought it would be better to teach people how to do it right the first time.
It’s for this reason that I highly recommend you purchase the FFL Course and SOT Course combo. The combo allows you to learn how to apply to buy and sell silencers, as well as Short Barreled Rifles (SBRs), for only an extra $10.
Step 4: Submit Your FFL Application Forms
After you’ve made sure you meet all requirements (federal and state), have verified the appropriate FFL type for your business, and have taken my Rocket FFL course combo, you are ready to apply for your FFL!
After you pay for the FFL application and submit it to the ATF, where they will begin by completing a NICS background check on all “responsible persons” listed in the business. For clarification purposes, anyone who will influence the business’s practices and policies is considered a responsible person (RP).
Once all your application paperwork is verified, and all NICS background checks are complete, your application is sent to a local ATF field office. An in-person interview will be scheduled with an industry operations investigator (IOI). This interview is to make sure all information you submitted is correct and that you are following all state laws and local requirements.
After the in-person interview, the IOI will recommend whether or not you receive an FFL. If you pass, the ATF field office supervisor will then submit your approved application to the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (FFLC), and you will be issued an FFL number.
60-days from start to finish is how long the process usually takes, according to the ATF website. The conundrum is the ATF may require multiple forms and extra steps during the process for some states.
Depending on your location, this could mean more time, extra steps, and excessive forms. However, this is why I created the Rocket FFL course. You’ll have every detail and access to all the necessary forms to quickly apply for your Federal Firearms License, specifically in Utah.
Federal Requirements for an FFL
Fortunately, the federal requirements for getting an FFL are the same for every state.
The federal government requirements are:
- You are at least 21 years of age
- You are a US Citizen or legal permanent resident
- You are legally permitted to possess firearms and ammunition (no felony convictions, have not been a psychological patient or controlled substance user, etc.)
- You have a predetermined location for conducting FFL activities (this includes home-based FFLs)
- No prior violations of the Gun Control Act (GCA) or related regulations
- You do not make any false statements/claims on your FFL application
Once you satisfy all of these federal requirements, it’s time to move on to the state-specific requirements.
Utah State Requirements for an FFL
Utah state requirements to get an FFL are broken down into two categories:
- State licensing requirements
- Business registration requirements
Utah State Licensing Requirements
Currently, Utah does not require a state-specific firearms license. Your FFL is enough to be able to sell and distribute firearms in Utah.
Utah Business Registration Requirements
However, you do need to register your FFL business with the State of Utah.
Our Get Your FFL course covers why you need to have an official presence in Utah, even if your business is registered in another state.
To learn how to start your FFL business in Utah, you should first check out Utah’s governmental business page, where they explain How to Start a Business in Utah. The Utah Division of Corporations and Commerical Code also provide an excellent resource for How To Register your Utah Business.
Utah Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
In almost every area of the US, it’s commonly the local zoning requirements that create one of the biggest problems when applying for an FFL. Ensure the location you choose where you will operate (often a home-based FFL) allows for a business.
Often, local zoning departments will tell home-based firearms businesses they can’t operate in a residential area. These restrictions in certain regions are frequently due to a misunderstanding about the type of business activity needed at a location.
Many times when a local zoning department hears “FFL,” they assume it will have retail-level traffic, but the reality is most FFL dealers in home-based locations only have customers stop by on occasion.
We cover these kinds of situations, as well as FFL requirements for specific business hours, in our Get Your FFL course. Don’t miss out!
Utah FFL Summary
Getting your Utah FFL is straightforward with wise guidance.
When you can meet the Federal and State requirements, choose the appropriate license type, take our online course, and fill in the proper forms, You’ll find that you will soon have your own Utah FFL!
Fair warning — our course significantly helps you cut down on the number of hours you will spend trying to get it right on your own.
Our course confidently helps you fill out all the required forms and get through the process with ease. Open your FFL business with the confidence knowing you are within all the confines of both federal and local laws.
I’m ready when you are — let’s get started today!
FAQ for Utah FFL Licensing
How much does it cost to get an FFL in Utah?
An FFL in Utah costs anywhere from $30 to $200 for 3 years. For a full breakdown of the cost of an FFL, check here.
Do I need an FFL in Utah?
Yes! If you plan to sell, transfer, manufacture, or do anything else for profit involving firearms, you are legally required to have an active FFL.
Does Utah require extra licensing for FFLs?
No, there are no additional state licensing requirements for FFLs in Utah.
Do I need to register a business for an FFL in Utah?
Yes, if you are forming a business for your FFL, it must be registered in Utah.
Can I get an FFL to save money on guns?
No, you should not get an FFL just to save money on guns. One of the main requirements for getting your FFL is “business intent,” meaning you intend to operate a firearms-related business.
However, you may wait to start your business until after you get your FFL number.
Extra Resources For Getting a Utah FFL
US Code § 923: Code § 923 covers federal regulations for the import, manufacture, and dealing of firearms and ammunition. This is the federal law that requires those operating firearms businesses to get an FFL.
US CFR § 478.47 – Issuance of license.: This code explains how a Federal Firearms License is issued, including who must assign the license number. It requires the ATF (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives) to qualify applicants based on a predetermined list of requirements and to issue Federal Firearms Licenses.
If a correctly submitted FFL application has been submitted on ATF Form 7, the Chief of the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (a department at the ATF) must issue the license and assign a serial number to the licensee.
Gun Control Act (GCA): The GCA of 1968 establishes stricter laws on the firearms industry than were already present in the NFA. New regulations regarding firearms offenses, firearms/ammunition sales to “prohibited persons,” and federal jurisdiction for “destructive devices” (bombs, grenades, mines, etc.) were created with the GCA.
Starting a Business in Utah: Need help finding out where to start with your new business? Check out this article from the Utah Government Business Page showing you how to do just that!
Utah Legislature — Gun Laws: Firearms dealers in Utah can use this resource to properly handle firearms sales.
FFL Types: Use this guide to make sure that you choose the right type of Federal Firearms License for what you want to do.
Home-Based FFL: Don’t want to pay for a storefront but wish to operate as an FFL holder from your home? We explain how to do it from start to finish.