America affords many freedoms to its citizens that many countries around the world do not recognize. One of the most apparent freedoms that Americans possess is buying, selling, and trading firearms as a federal firearms licensee.
The most passionate gun owners often choose to one day open a gun shop to share these freedoms with others in their communities.
To get your FFL in the state of Kansas, you will need to apply for a Federal Firearms License (FFL).
An FFL allows the license holder to legally operate as a gun dealer, buying and selling handguns, rifles, ammo, and other NFA items (such as suppressors, short-barrel rifles, machine guns, etc.).
In this article, we will discuss:
- FFL Cost
- Steps to getting your FFL in Kansas
- Federal Requirements for an FFL
- Kansas State Requirements for an FFL
- Kansas Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
- FAQs and additional resources
FFL Cost in Kansas
How much does an FFL cost? An FFL in Kansas costs between $30-$200 for the first 3 years.
FFL applications from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) allow you to choose from several license types.
Each of the different types of FFLs varies in price due to the different functions they allow the licensee to perform. You may want to sell a few handguns, incorporate gunsmithing, or handle NFA items, for example.
Each of these activities requires a different type of license with varied application fees.
FFL License Cost by Type
To handle NFA items (such as silencers, short-barrel rifles, machine guns, destructive devices, etc.), you must pay additional costs in the form of an SOT license registration.
Steps to Getting Your FFL
To get your FFL in Kansas, you need to:
- Ensure you meet the federal and state requirements for an FFL
- Choose your FFL type
- Take an FFL course
- Submit your FFL application forms
Step 1: Ensure You Meet FFL Requirements
First, you need to make sure that you meet all federal and state requirements. All Americans must meet the same list of federal requirements, but state requirements differ and may frequently change.
Step 2: Choose Your FFL Type
Second, make sure you apply for the appropriate type of FFL. Depending on what you are trying to do with your business, you will need to make sure you choose the type of license that will allow you to lawfully operate your firearms business.
Most gun dealers require either a Type 01 license (for most firearms dealers and gunsmiths) or a Type 07 license (for selling and manufacturing). To determine what type of FFL best suits your needs, read this article, where we break it down.
Some types of firearms and accessories require you to be an SOT (Special Occupational Taxpayer). You’ll apply as an SOT after being assigned your FFL number. These requirements are from the National Firearms Act of 1934 (NFA), later updated with Title II of the Gun Control Act.
You’ll need to be an SOT if you plan to sell these NFA items:
- Full-auto machine guns
- Short-barreled rifles (rifles with a barrel shorter than 16″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Short-barreled shotguns (shotguns with a barrel shorter than 18″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Destructive devices (grenades, mines, bombs, etc.)
- Any other weapons (pen guns, specific special handguns, etc.)
The table below describes FFL License types and which SOT Class you’ll need to apply for after getting your FFL to sell firearms covered under the NFA.
We cover all of the specifics of SOT classes and the NFA in our Get Your FFL Course.
FFL License Types
|FFL License Type||FFL License Purpose||SOT Class|
|Type 01 FFL||Dealer/Gunsmith of Firearms||3|
|Type 02 FFL||Pawnbroker/Dealer of Firearms||3|
|Type 03 FFL||Collector of Firearms||n/a|
|Type 06 FFL||Manufacturer of Ammunition||n/a|
|Type 07 FFL||Manufacturer/Dealer of Firearms and Ammunition||2|
|Type 08 FFL||Importer/Dealer of Firearms||1|
|Type 09 FFL||Dealer of Destructive Devices||3|
|Type 10 FFL||Manufacturer/Dealer of Destructive Devices||2|
|Type 11 FFL||Importer/Dealer of Destructive Devices||1|
Step 3: Take an FFL Course
Next, take an FFL course from a qualified instructor.
The logistics of getting your FFL License can be complex, and simultaneously trying to follow federal and state laws can easily discourage you from pursuing your dream.
That’s why I developed a course based on decades of research and work as an attorney in the firearms industry to help you get your FFL hassle-free.
The below course will not only cover getting your FFL, but it also covers everything you need to know to get your FFL in Kansas.
Letting people submit their license application (only to have it rejected due to errors) and then charging them my hourly rate to fix said mistakes would be an easy way to get rich.
However, I thought it would be better for my fellow firearms industry entrepreneurs to learn how to do it right the first time. This way, they can accelerate their plan of becoming the newest FFL dealer in their community.
I highly recommend that you get the FFL Course and SOT Course combo. For an extra $10, learn how to apply to buy and sell silencers and Short Barreled Rifles (SBRs) in addition to standard firearms covered by just your FFL. Just select the course combo option at checkout.
Step 4: Submit Your FFL Application Forms
When you’ve made sure you meet all requirements (federal and state), verified the appropriate FFL type for your business, and taken the Rocket FFL course, you are ready to “pull the trigger” and apply for your FFL!
Once you submit all the forms required by the ATF, they will start the process by completing a background check through the NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) on all “responsible persons” for the business. A responsible person (RP) is either the sole proprietor, a partner in the corporation, or someone who will influence the business’s practices and policies.
The application is sent to a local ATF field office once all application paperwork is verified as correct and background checks are complete. An industry operations investigator (IOI) will set up an in-person interview with you to make sure all information is still accurate and that you are following all state and local requirements.
After the interview, the IOI will make a recommendation to either approve or deny your FFL application. Assuming you passed, the ATF field office supervisor will submit the approved application to the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (FFLC), and you will be the next owner of an FFL.
According to the ATF website, the entire process takes about 60 days from submitting a completed application. However, depending on the state you are setting up in, the ATF may require multiple forms and extra steps during the process.
This may require multiple forms and extra steps depending on your location. However, if you took the Rocket FFL course, you’ll have every detail and access to all the necessary forms to quickly apply for your Federal Firearms License.
Federal Requirements for an FFL
The federal requirements for getting an FFL are the same for every state.
To get an FFL, the federal government requires that you:
- Are at least 21
- Are a US Citizen or legal permanent resident
- Can legally possess firearms and ammunition (not a felon, have not been a psychological patient or controlled substance user, etc.)
- Have a set location for FFL activities (this includes home-based FFLs)
- Have not violated the Gun Control Act (GCA) or related regulations
- Make no false statements/claims on your FFL application
Once you satisfy all of these requirements, you can then move on to the state-specific requirements.
Kansas State Requirements for an FFL
Kansas state requirements for an FFL can be broken down into two categories:
- State licensing requirements
- Business registration requirements
Kansas State Licensing Requirements
Fortunately enough, it’s easy to open a gun store in the state of Kansas. All you need is an FFL and a business license in Kansas, and you’re all set.
Remember: If you move your FFL to another state, you must follow that state’s FFL licensing requirements to open a new gun store.
Kansas Business Registration Requirements
Like in any other state, you’ll need to register your firearms business with the State of Kansas.
Even if you register your business in another state (we suggest this in our Get Your FFL course), you’ll still need to have an official presence in Kansas.
To register your business in Kansas, you can check out this helpful guide from the Kansas Department of Revenue.
Kansas Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
Local zoning requirements are usually one of the biggest problems when applying for an FFL, even more so than federal and state gun laws. Most importantly, you must ensure the location you use as a base of operations (often a home-based FFL) allows for a business.
If your local zoning department tells you that you can’t operate a home-based FFL, you’ll need to work with them to establish accurate expectations for the business you plan to conduct. Often, this confusion happens because they associate a gun store with heavy foot traffic and typical brick-and-mortar operations.
But most home-based FFLs don’t have retail-level traffic and only have customers stop by on occasion.
We cover this and more, including requirements for specific business hours, in our Get Your FFL course.
Kansas FFL Summary
As you can see, getting your Kansas FFL is easy and straightforward with the proper guidance!
When you meet the Federal and State requirements, choose the appropriate license type, take our online course, and fill in the proper forms, you can quickly get a Kansas FFL.
But I’ll warn you — it’s not easy to do without our course. There are many steps, and it’s easy to miss steps if you aren’t experienced with the process.
With our course, you can confidently fill out your forms with ease. Trust me — knowing that you are running your business safely, within all the confines of both federal and local laws, will be a massive load off your mind.
So, if you’re ready, let’s get started!
FAQ for Kansas FFL Licensing
How much does it cost to get an FFL in Kansas?
An FFL in Kansas costs anywhere from $30 to $200 for 3 years. For a full breakdown of the cost of an FFL, check here.
Do I need an FFL in Kansas?
If you plan to sell, transfer, manufacture, or do anything else for profit involving firearms, then yes, you are legally required to have an active FFL.
Does Kansas require extra licensing for FFLs?
No, there are no additional licensing requirements for FFLs in Kansas.
Do I need to register a business for an FFL in Kansas?
Yes, if you are forming any business type, you must register it through the Kansas Department of Revenue.
Can I get an FFL to save money on guns?
No, you should not get an FFL just to save money on guns. One of the main requirements for getting your FFL is “business intent,” meaning you intend to operate a firearms-related business.
However, you may wait to start your business until after you get your FFL number.
Extra Resources For Getting a Kansas FFL
US Code § 923: Code § 923 covers federal regulations for the import, manufacture, and dealing of firearms and ammunition. This is the federal law that requires those operating firearms businesses to get an FFL.
US CFR § 478.47 – Issuance of license.: This code explains how a Federal Firearms License is issued, including who must assign the license number. It requires the ATF (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives) to qualify applicants based on a predetermined list of requirements and to issue Federal Firearms Licenses.
If a correctly submitted FFL application has been submitted on ATF Form 7, the Chief of the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (a department at the ATF) must issue the license and assign a serial number to the licensee.
Gun Control Act (GCA): The GCA of 1968 establishes stricter laws on the firearms industry than were already present in the NFA. New regulations regarding firearms offenses, firearms/ammunition sales to “prohibited persons,” and federal jurisdiction for “destructive devices” (bombs, grenades, mines, etc.) were created with the GCA.
Starting a Business in Kansas: Need help finding out where to start with your new business? Check out this guide from the Kansas Department of Revenue showing you how to do just that!
FFL Types: Use this guide to make sure that you choose the right type of Federal Firearms License for what you want to do.
Home-Based FFL: Don’t want to pay for a storefront but wish to operate as an FFL holder from your home? We explain how to do it from start to finish.