Many concealed carry gun owners want to become Federal Firearms License holders (FFL) to operate gun stores. These FFL holders are allowed by federal law to handle the selling and distribution of firearms.
There are just a few requirements to do more than just purchase firearms and get your FFL in Mississippi.
At Rocket FFL, we hope to make this process as easy as possible, eliminating as much hassle as possible from the process, giving you information about both federal and Mississippi state laws.
In this article, we will cover:
- FFL Cost
- Steps to getting your FFL in Mississippi
- Federal Requirements for an FFL
- Mississippi State Requirements for an FFL
- Mississippi Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
- FAQs and additional resources
How much does an FFL cost? An FFL in Mississippi costs between $30-$200 for the first 3 years.
The application process begins by filling out an application with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF), where you choose from several license types.
These license types vary in price due to the different functions they allow FFL gun dealers to perform. This includes whether the FFL licensee is just trying to sell a few handguns from their curio, incorporate gunsmithing, or handle NFA items, for example.
A different license type is required for each of these, and the application fees range in price.
FFL License Cost by Type
Current gun laws require people who handle NFA items (such as silencers/suppressors, short-barrel rifles, machine guns, destructive devices, etc.), pay additional costs in the form of an SOT license registration.
Steps to Getting Your FFL
To get your FFL in Mississippi, you need to:
- Ensure you meet the federal and state requirements for an FFL
- Choose your FFL type
- Take an FFL course
- Submit your FFL application forms
Step 1: Ensure You Meet FFL Federal Requirements
You must meet all federal and state requirements to get your FFL. These are the same for every state in the US, which we detail below.
Step 2: Choose Your FFL Type
You need to apply for the appropriate type of FFL for your business. Make sure you choose the type of license that allows you to lawfully operate your firearms business.
Most businesses need either a Type 01 license (for most firearms dealers and gunsmiths) or a Type 07 license (for manufacturing). A Type 07 license lets you both manufacture and sell firearms.
Read this article, where we break down the different kinds of FFL licenses.
Handling of NFA firearms and accessories requires you to be an SOT (Special Occupational Taxpayer). An SOT can only be assigned after you get your FFL number.
You’ll need to be an SOT if you plan to sell these NFA items:
- Full-auto machine guns
- Short-barreled rifles (rifles with a barrel shorter than 16″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Short-barreled shotguns (shotguns with a barrel shorter than 18″ or an overall length under 26″)
- Destructive devices (grenades, mines, bombs, etc.)
- Any other weapons (pen guns, specific special handguns, etc.)
We detail each FFL license type and which SOT Class you need to apply for after getting your FFL in the table below. We also cover all of the specifics of SOT classes and the NFA in our Get Your FFL Course.
FFL License Types
|FFL License Type||FFL License Purpose||SOT Class|
|Type 01 FFL||Dealer/Gunsmith of Firearms||3|
|Type 02 FFL||Pawnbroker/Dealer of Firearms||3|
|Type 03 FFL||Collector of Firearms||n/a|
|Type 06 FFL||Manufacturer of Ammunition||n/a|
|Type 07 FFL||Manufacturer/Dealer of Firearms and Ammunition||2|
|Type 08 FFL||Importer/Dealer of Firearms||1|
|Type 09 FFL||Dealer of Destructive Devices||3|
|Type 10 FFL||Manufacturer/Dealer of Destructive Devices||2|
|Type 11 FFL||Importer/Dealer of Destructive Devices||1|
Step 3: Take an FFL Course
As an attorney in the firearms industry, I recommend you take an FFL course from a qualified instructor. The logistics of getting your FFL license can be complex, which is why I created my own hassle-free course below.
My course no only covers getting your FFL, but it specifically covers everything you need to know to get your FFL in Mississippi.
The truth is, as a firearms attorney that specializes in ATF compliance, I could get rich by charging my hourly rate to fix your FFL application mistakes. But I thought it would be better to instead teach how to do it right the first time.
I highly recommend that you get the FFL Course and SOT Course combo. The extra $10 course teaches you how to apply to buy and sell silencers and Short Barreled Rifles (SBRs) in addition to standard firearms and ammo.
Step 4: Submit Your FFL Application Forms
After you meet all requirements (federal and state), have verified the appropriate FFL type for your business, and have taken the educational Rocket FFL course, you are ready to finally apply for your FFL!
Submit all the forms required by the ATF, then an NICS background check on all “responsible persons” for the business will be requested. A responsible person (RP) is the sole proprietor and partners in the corporation (anyone who will influence the business’s practices and policies).
Your paperwork needs to be verified as correct, and you need to pass all background checks. Once this happens, your application is sent to a local ATF field office, where an industry operations investigator (IOI) sets up an in-person interview to make sure all information is still correct and that you are following all state and local law requirements.
This interview determines whether the IOI will make a recommendation to either approve or deny your FFL application. Assuming you pass, the ATF field office supervisor will then submit the approved application to the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (FFLC). The FFLC will then assign you an FFL serial number.
According to the ATF website, this application process takes 60 days. The ATF may require multiple forms and extra steps during the process, depending on the state you apply through.
However, if you took the Rocket FFL course, you’ll have access to all the necessary forms to quickly apply for your Federal Firearms License, specifically from Mississippi.
Federal Requirements for an FFL
The federal requirements for getting an FFL are the same for every state in the US.
To get an FFL, the federal government requires that you:
- Are at least 21 years of age
- Are a US Citizen or legal permanent resident
- Are legally permitted to possess firearms and ammunition (no felony convictions, have not been a psychological patient or controlled substance user, etc.)
- Have a predetermined location for conducting FFL activities (this includes home-based FFLs)
- Have never violated the Gun Control Act (GCA) or related regulations
- Do not make any false statements/claims on your FFL application
Once these requirements are satisfied, you can then move on to the Mississippi state-specific requirements.
Mississippi State Requirements for an FFL
State requirements for an FFL in Mississippi are broken down into two categories:
- State licensing requirements
- Business registration requirements
Mississippi State Licensing Requirements
Currently, Mississippi does not require any redundant state licenses, making the FFL process more streamlined. All you need to distribute firearms in MS is your FFL!
Mississippi Business Registration Requirements
All US states require registering your business with the state in which you will operate. This is true even if your business is registered in another state. We cover why in our Get Your FFL course.
To have an official presence as an FFL business in Mississippi, check out the Steps to Starting a Company by the Mississippi Small Business Development Center. You can also learn How To Register Your Mississippi Business through the Mississippi Business Services and Regulation Department.
Mississippi Local (City/Town) FFL Requirements
Local zoning requirements are usually one of the biggest problems when applying for an FFL. You must ensure the location you use as a base of operations (often a home-based FFL) allows for a business.
It’s common for a home-based firearms business to be told you can’t operate in a residential area. But don’t give up yet! Business restrictions are frequently due to a misunderstanding about the type of business activity held there.
When a zoning department hears “FFL,” they may assume regular retail business and heavy foot traffic (which doesn’t fly in residential locations). You can assure the zoning department that home-based FFLs don’t usually have retail-level traffic and only have customers stop by on occasion.
We cover how to do this and more in our Get Your FFL course. Don’t miss out!
Mississippi FFL Summary
With the proper guidance, you will easily be able to get your FFL quickly and without hassle.
By following our steps of meeting the Federal and State requirements, choosing the appropriate license type, taking our online course combo, and filling out the proper forms, you’ll soon be an FFL holder!
Unfortunately, without our course, you can expect to sink too much of your valuable time into trying to get it right on your own.
We want you to fill out your forms and get through the process with ease. Trust me — my course will help give you confidence that you are running your business within all the confines of both federal and local laws.
If you’re ready, let’s get started!
FAQ for Mississippi FFL Licensing
How much does it cost to get an FFL in Mississippi?
An FFL in Mississippi costs anywhere from $30 to $200 for 3 years. For a full breakdown of the cost of an FFL, check here.
Do I need an FFL in Mississippi?
Yes! If you plan to sell, transfer, manufacture, or do anything else for profit involving firearms, you are legally required to have an active FFL.
Does Mississippi require extra licensing for FFLs?
No, there are no additional licensing requirements for FFLs in Mississippi.
Do I need to register a business for an FFL in Mississippi?
Yes, if you are forming a business for your FFL, it must be registered in Mississippi.
Can I get an FFL to save money on guns?
No, you should not get an FFL just to save money on guns. One of the main requirements for getting your FFL is “business intent,” meaning you intend to operate a firearms-related business.
However, you may wait to start your business until after you get your FFL number.
Extra Resources For Getting a Mississippi FFL
US Code § 923: Code § 923 covers federal regulations for the import, manufacture, and dealing of firearms and ammunition. This is the federal law that requires those operating firearms businesses to get an FFL.
US CFR § 478.47 – Issuance of license.: This code explains how a Federal Firearms License is issued, including who must assign the license number. It requires the ATF (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives) to qualify applicants based on a predetermined list of requirements and to issue Federal Firearms Licenses.
If a correctly submitted FFL application has been submitted on ATF Form 7, the Chief of the Federal Firearms Licensing Center (a department at the ATF) must issue the license and assign a serial number to the licensee.
Gun Control Act (GCA): The GCA of 1968 establishes stricter laws on the firearms industry than were already present in the NFA. New regulations regarding firearms offenses, firearms/ammunition sales to “prohibited persons,” and federal jurisdiction for “destructive devices” (bombs, grenades, mines, etc.) were created with the GCA.
Starting a Business in Mississippi: Need help finding out where to start with your new business? Check out this information from the Mississippi SBDC!
Mississippi Gun Laws: Firearms dealers in Mississippi can use this guide to properly handle firearms sales.
FFL Types: Use this guide to make sure that you choose the right type of Federal Firearms License for what you want to do.
Home-Based FFL: Don’t want to pay for a storefront but wish to operate as an FFL holder from your home? We explain how to do it from start to finish.